The Journey Begins

I started a very aggressive diet plan today.  I want to document everything on here because this is a space I know I will be able to look to over the course of the next weeks, months and years.  It might not be pretty, but I think it is going to be pretty great.  At this point, this is a diet, not a true lifestyle change.  It may turn into a lifestyle but at this point I am having a hard time looking past how little food I am actually eating.

I have been in contact with a physician about my weight and how I might take some positive steps in getting out of this vicious cycle of losing gaining losing gaining.  The plan I have been given is very straight forward and very restrictive.  I am to eat very small meals (around 200-300 calories) every three hours.

I have struggled with my weight since second grade.  I was never really fat a a child, but I was also a big girl ~ tall, big boned, and just bigger than everyone else.  I had very high self esteem and I was very athletic, so I never really let my size get in my way, but I always was aware that I was bigger than everyone else.

Through my adulthood I have been on as many diets as you can think of.  In my early twenties I was very successful with Weight Watchers (I lost about 75 pounds and kept it off for about 5 years) but marriage and children and lifestyle put the weight back on and now I am at a point where I am raising babies instead of having babies and I am ready to make a commitment to myself for the long haul.

It is not going to be easy, but I know it is going to be worth it.

Leave a Reply

