Weekend Warrier

It was a crazy busy weekend that included two cookie exchanges, breakfast with Santa, a Christmas festival, party with the neighbors, grandma visit, church, and major spring (winter) cleaning.

Man, I am tired just thinking about it.

Now, in years past this weekend would have been a total feeding frenzy.  I mean, TWO cookie exchanges…sign me up!!!! But this year was different.  I am on a mission and my mission was not going to be swayed by a few cookies.  So I decided Friday that I was going to stay on track no matter what.  My first cookie exchange was easy breezy…I ate zero cookies and drank a glass of water.  WIN!

No breakfast for me at Breakfast with Santa, but lots of fun memories made with my mom and the kids (Shawn was working).  It was an old fashioned type of event and we loved every minute of it.  With or without food involved (the kids ate, bye the way).

 

image

They just found out they are on the naughty list

 

So I am taking it day by day, actually minute by minute.  It has been difficult at times.  I am not going to lie, I have to spend a lot of time and energy thinking about food and what needs to go in and out of my body.  I do think the idea of timed meals is very smart.  I absolutely appreciate the alarm that goes of every three hours signaling it is time to eat!

I did splurge a bit at my mother-in-laws exchange on Sunday.  I had a few yummy appetizers and a couple of cookies and they were worth it.  They tasted so much better than just shoveling the food in.  In fact, I have noticed that all food tastes better when you are hungry and eating for fuel.

So, yay for me!  My first weekend down and I can honestly say I am very proud of how I handled all of these Christmas indulgences.

 

Leave a Reply

