Sweaty Miles

I have pretty much embraced early morning exercise since I decided to change my life for good in January. I like the idea of getting it done before most of the world is even awake. I feel accomplished at the end of the day when I know a workout is just part of my routine now. 

With early morning workouts also comes the frustration sometimes of not getting enough sleep or your schedule just being “off.” Last night I got everything out for an early morning walking. I went to bed at a decent hour and was prepared for Tuesday…that was until the smoked detectors started going off in our house around 2:30 am. Ugh. Super annoying. They would not stop and I guess I am the only light sleeper in the house because I was the only one up. After I checked to make sure nothing was, in fact, on fire, I tried to figure out the problem. Ours are hard-wired, so when one goes on the fritz they all do. Fun. Not.

I finally narrowed it down to one (at 4:18 am) and at that point I was having major anxiety and panic. I laid my head back down and needless to say my early morning workout was a bust.

Instead of calling it a day of rest I got up and got Megan ready for tennis camp, she looks professional…


When Shawn and Tyler took her Ryan and I headed for the trails. I didn’t have a time or goal I for mileage in mind, but I ended up walking/hiking 6 miles pushing my 35 pound little guy in the stroller.


In the end I felt sweaty and accomplished. A total win for me. I beat laziness today and I am super proud of that! It was hot and humid and tough, but I did it. I actually felt like a legitimate athlete today. I love that feeling.

The rest of the morning has been spent paying bills and planning for the next month before school starts. 

I have also gotten in 40 ounces of water this morning.water has been hard for me because I was never a huge drinker before surgery and now it is important that I meet that goal on the daily. I am also trying to eat some good and wholesome food today.

What did you do today to make you feel proud?

Leave a Reply

