Last Year This Year

Last year I started school in a very bad place. I was grossly overweight and really didn’t know how I was going to dig myself out of this hole of obesity and general bad health. I was smiling on the outside but crying on the inside. I was tired and cranky and everything hurt both mentally and physically.

I did the classic, “hide behind my child so no one can really see how fat I really am” move on the first day of school.


This year I started school with still a lot of weight to lose but I am a heck of a lot smaller than I was (60 pounds to be exact). I feel good about my health, both mentally and physically. While I was sad to see the summer end, I was happy to make the transition back to my routine.


I walked four miles before the sun came up this morning. 

With each passing day I am feeling more optimistic about life. 

My relationships are better than they have been in a long time. 

I am reaching out to people when I need help. 

Overall I feel like I am more mentally about to be a better wife, mother, sister, daughter, co-worker and friend.

I am so grateful for the journey my life has taken me. I will not take this second chance at life for granted.

Happy weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Last Year This Year

Leave a Reply

