Goodbye Eighty

I stepped on the scale this morning.

Then I had to step off.

And then back on again.

Today I saw a number I have not seen since early 2004.  Yes…12 years ago.

I weigh less today than I did on my wedding day. I never in a million years thought I would ever see that number again.

I am 83 pounds down from my highest weight ever recorded on December 8, 2015. Who knows if I was ever higher than that.

Every one of those pounds represents the blood, sweat, and tears that it has taken to get them off. I have been working out at 5am 5 days a week for at least 75 minutes since January. And I have thrown in an occasional Saturday to the mix just for fun.

I have counted calories every day since I started this journey last December.  I have said “no” to more delicious, unhealthy food than I can ever count. I have said “yes” to small meals, extra protein, and lots and lots of vegetables.

At this point I am still not close to my goal (whatever that may be), but I am 83 pounds healthier, 83 pounds happier, I have 83 pounds of more energy, I am 83pounds  more likely to say yes to new experiences.

Leave a Reply

