Progress

I have been gaining and losing the same five pounds for the past month. It is disheartening because I have been putting in the same work. I also know that this is part of the process and I need to be patient with my progress. I do see a lot of non-scale related victories,so I thought I would list those out today. 

Here are five things that I can celebrate at this moment:

1. Looking smaller in the legs…


I am finally seeing some shape in my upper thighs. They have always been a problem area and I have carried a lot of fat there for years. For a while I thought they would never get any slimmer but now I am seeing a bit of progress…no where near where I want to be, but so much better than they were.

2. Fitness…


I am finally able to hike, run, and take long walks with relative ease. I actually love fitness and exercise and crave it when I miss a day. I have also started running and really pushing myself in all of my classes. More than anything I feel like a true “member” of the fitness community.

3. Mothering


Even though I have less time than ever, I feel like I am a much more quality, awesome mom. We do so many more fun, spontaneous things. The weight literally does not weigh me down anymore.

4. I am happier…


Life is definitely not perfect and I still do a lot of self-assessment and have a ways to go with my own “issues” I am so much happier this year than I was last year. My big worries don’t seem so huge that they turn into an anxiety-ridden tantrum at any given moment. I can look at life with a lot more zest and enthusiasm than I ever have before.

5. Relationships…


I say to my BFF that not obsessing about food all the time has given me great clarity.  This has proven to be really great for my mental state. I am now at a point in my life where I value the people in it and the toxic ones are slowly being eliminated. I have no tolerance for people who are negative and bring me down. I also want to spend time with those I care about the most.

Leave a Reply

