The Girl in the Picture

You know I have been feeling down. My journey has been a special kind of struggle in the last few months.

But today I was reminded of how far I have come in this journey. 

I was given a teaching award this morning at my school. I didn’t know it was happening, but it was a nice surprise.  They brought us up on the altar and gave us a certificate and took a picture. Whenever I get my picture taken I am always worried about how I will look. You know I have a problem with feeling like the biggest person in the room. So I am always tense for pictures.

Well, the picture ended up on our school Facebook feed this afternoon. Imagine my surprise when I looked at it and realized how normal I looked next to everyone. I about cried.

That’s me…third from the left


See the blonde next to me? I always thought that if I ever lost the weight I would like to be her size. She is tall and big boned like me but always carried herself well.

Looking at this picture today made me see that we are pretty much the same size now. Never in a million years did I think I would ever get to this place.  This fact also made me tear up.

I have to remind myself that this a forever journey. There is no real destination. I need to celebrate along the way. 

Tonight I will celebrate with a Hershey’s Kiss. And tomorrow I will be back on the treadmill. 

Life is good.

One thought on “The Girl in the Picture

Leave a Reply

