A Few New Things

I don’t really like change, but as an adult I have to embrace it. I have been trying new things in the last few weeks and I thought I would share some of them today. Here are five of my newest finds…

1. Working out at home. 

I don’t like it too much. I have no motivation to get up when a) I don’t go to the gym or b) when I am not meeting a friend. But since Shawn is now not home in the morning I really can’t do either. So I am forced to do something. I did find this work-out that I have been doing and not hating. I do 4 rounds which takes approximately 40 minutes. I think I might have the kids do it with me in the evening because I am a fun mom like that.


10 minute workout
2. New Recipes

I tried the “Unstuffed Egg Roll” last week and it was a absolute HUGE hit for the family. Everyone loved it and it was super easy.


Unstuffed Egg Roll
I also tried Katie Lee’s “Slow-Cooker Lasagna Soup” yesterday. I will say for a slow cooker recipe it had a lot of steps to it, which I am not a fan of…I prefer the dump and go method of crock-potting.

Megan and Tyler both really liked it. It sparked an interest in the Garfield show so that was kind of a fun quirk.

Shawn and I thought there were too many noodles and not enough protein. I added a bunch of pulverized veggies to it so that added a lot of nutrients and flavors. We have a ton of leftovers so I am going to pack it up and bring it to a new mom and family this weekend.


Slow-Cooker Lasagna Soup
3. New smile

Tyler finally lost that front tooth that has been hanging by a thread for a week. It literally just fell out ( no pulling necessary) and he said, “Here, do you want a tooth?” That’s my guy.


4. Traditions

I am going to start making going to the park mandatory on nice days after school. Yesterday was gorgeous and we spent an hour at the park after we picked up Ryan. It was so nice to get out in the fresh air and the kids dispositions were so much better with that downtime. My mind felt great as well so it was a win-win for everyone.


5. Breakfast

I have been eating sourdough toast with mashed avacado, sauerkraut, and turkey bacon for breakfast fairly often in the last few weeks. It is a weird, delicious combination that I stole from Jen.  Today I tried not with Ham and loved it!

Leave a Reply

