Celebrating

So, this happened yesterday morning…


I decided to weigh in early this month because I had a feeling after my appointment last week that I was on the brink of something spectactulor.

To say I am thrilled would be the understatement of the world. I cannot contain my happiness. 100 pounds has been a goal of mine since I started this journey over a year ago. I actually thought it was going to happen sooner, but I am happy it has happened and feel like I can finally move forward. Man, it has been a long 4 months of plateaus and slow loss, but I have stuck to it and kept moving forward even when times have gotten tough.

I have never been so close to a goal weight in my life. At this point I am thinking I have between 20 and 30 pounds to go. But I have not been this low of a weight in my adult life so I am not sure where things are going to shake out.  

I actually feel comfortable in my own skin for the first time in decades.  Believe me, I hava a ways to go with my health and fitness, but I am finally feeling like the person who I always thought I was on the inside.

And just to keep things honest, here is what a 100 pound loss looks like. Same dress…

Fall, 2014

Today!


And here is a dress I bought myself to celebrate this momentous occasion. I hope I have enough inner strength to wear it to dinner this weekend with my girlfriends. It is way out of my comfort zone. But I think it is so pretty and feminine and something I have always wanted to be able to wear (and not look pregnant).


Look closely at that tag…okay, I will zoom in…


Yes, you read that right. It is a size 10. Now, I am not a size 10 by any means. Today I am  in a 16 pant comfortably and sometimes a 14 and an XL/L top. When I started my journey I was pretty much a 24/3X in most clothes.  This dress clearly ran large, but I will take it!!! I don’t think I have been in a size 10 since 7th grade.  

I celebrated by waking up early and doing yoga and then hitting the gym hard after work.  I am just so excited for the next phase of my journey, whatever that may be.

Thank you, loyal friends and readers (Beth, I am looking at you!) for being the best support system I could ask for.

Leave a Reply

